UW team receives T1D Exchange Outstanding Pediatric Team Award

Group of 22 people smiling at camera

The University of Wisconsin team of physicians and health care providers who care for pediatric patients with type 1 diabetes was recently recognized for its excellence by the T1D Exchange Quality Improvement Collaborative with its Outstanding Pediatric Team Award. The UW team was chosen from more than 50 endocrinology centers. Housed in the Department of Pediatrics Division of Endocrinology and Diabetes, the team consists of faculty members, APPs, nurses, registered dieticians, care coordinators, and medical assistants who facilitate the diagnosis, treatment, and monitoring of 1,000 patients each year at specialized UW Health Kids pediatric clinics. The award was presented at the T1D Exchange Quality Improvement Collaborative Learning Session, which took place in New York, New York, November 14–15.

In the photo: First row, left to right: Denise McMurray, MA; Kali Ecker, RN; Kristin Jakubowski, RN; Ellen Connor, MD; Grace Franklin, RDN; Jenny Templeton, MA; Second row, left to right: Victoria Nicksic, MD; Elizabeth Mann, MD; Elizabeth Bender Roe, NP; Emily Becker; Doha Hassan, MD; Gabrielle Courseault, RN; Melinda Chen, MD; Julie Price, CDCES; David Allen, MD; Third row, left to right: Pam Englehart, RN; Kimberly Vidmar, MD; Tracy Bekx, MD; Meghan Furstenberg-Knauff, NP; Rachel Fenske, RDN; Whitney Beaton, RN; Jean Elkins, RN