Dr. Jesse Roach Receives 2013-2015 Advocacy Scholars Program Award

Congratulations to Jesse Roach, MD, for receiving the 2013-2015 Advocacy Scholars Award from the John E. Lewy Foundation for Children’s Health. Dr. Roach and the other two recipients (Dr. Stephanie Clarke and Dr. Amy Skversky) will soon begin a two-year course designed to provide them with expert skills in the areas of advocacy and legislative affairs.

While a fellow, Dr. Roach worked with the American Society of Pediatric Nephrology’s (ASPN) Public Policy Committee to develop a model for the dialysis bundle and is currently working on an MPH with a focus on health policy. He will utilize the Scholar’s Program to add new practical experiences and skills to his growing theoretical knowledge of governmental affairs.

Launched in October 2010, the Advocacy Scholars Program utilizes didactic educational experiences from the American Academy of Pediatrics and the TheCapitol.net combined with individualized mentored experiences with ASPN members and governmental affairs leadership. By working directly with ASPN’s Washington representative and senior members of the ASPN to specifically understand ASPN’s advocacy and Capitol Hill efforts, scholars will be prepared for participation in ongoing advocacy initiatives.