Two trainees receive research awards at MSPR 2023 meeting

The Midwest Society for Pediatric Research (MSPR) hosted its 2023 annual meeting in Chicago, Illinois, October 11–13. Each year, the conference highlights innovative scientific discovery and provides a space for collaboration and career development. The Department of Pediatrics was well-represented at the conference, with several trainees presenting on topics ranging from neonatal kidney outcomes to renal oxygenation. Two trainees affiliated with the department received awards at this year’s meeting.

Ian Rogers, a medical student and 2023 Shapiro Student, received the William Segar Award for his project, “Comparing ergonomics during neonatal endotracheal intubation simulation between experts and trainees.” This award is given to a student, resident, or fellow trainee with a hypothesis-driven project that involves innovative improvement in patient care delivery. Rogers is mentored by Julie Kessel, MD, associate professor, Division of Neonatology and Newborn Nursery.

The William Segar Award is named in honor of William Segar, MD, a former chair of the University of Wisconsin Department of Pediatrics. Segar served as chair from 1975 to 1984. He is known for being an expert in fluid and electrolyte metabolism and pediatric fluid therapy and dialysis. He was a driving force in building the UW’s pediatric renal service.

Furkan Camci, a post-doctoral fellow, received the Jack Metcoff Award for his project, “Sex differences in the distinct transcriptomic hippocampal cell types and alterations in gene expression profiles after neonatal hypoxia ischemia.” The award is given to a resident or fellow for giving an outstanding research presentation. Camci is mentored by Pelin Cengiz, MD, professor, Division of Critical Care.


  • Ian Rogers (left) receiving the William Segar Award at MSPR 2023 meeting.