Eleven Students and Mentors Chosen by the Shapiro Summer Research Program

The following eleven students and their mentors were recently awarded Shapiro Summer Research Awards. The Shapiro Summer Research Program provides opportunities for more than 60 first-year medical students to participate in eight- to 12-week summer research projects with UW-Madison faculty members. First-year medical students apply at the beginning of each calendar year with basic science, clinical, translational, public health, or health systems projects. Funding for the program comes from the Herman and Gwendolyn Shapiro Foundation, with additional support from SMPH departments and centers and investigator grants. Congratulations to the following faculty and students:

  • James Conway, MD – student, Katharine Kelly
  • Elizabeth Cox, MD, PhD – student, Clara Ye
  • Amanda Eggen, MS – student, Julia McPherson
  • Pamela Kling, MD – student, Barbara Ha
  • Olachi Mezu-Ndubuisi, MD, OD – student, Sean Buck
  • Olachi Mezu-Ndubuisi, MD, OD – student, Kevin Rolnick
  • Dipesh Navsaria, MPH, MSLIS, MD – student, Heather Smaby
  • Dipesh Navsaria, MPH, MSLIS, MD – student, Terra Thimm
  • Bikash Pattnaik, PhD – student, Bryce Aul
  • Amy Peterson, MD – student, Sarah Zoutendam
  • Sushant Srinivasan, MD – student, Max Rusek