Drs. Hollman, Ralphe Receive UW Health Physician Excellence Awards

Two University of Wisconsin Department of Pediatrics faculty – Gregory Hollman, MD, and J. Carter Ralphe, MD – recently received UW Health Physician Excellence Awards at a ceremony held June 19, 2017, at the Health Sciences Learning Center.

Dr. Hollman, a professor (CHS) in the Division of Pediatric Critical Care, received a Clinical Practice Physician Excellence Award for his extraordinary commitment to safety and quality patient- and family-centered care. In 1991, he developed the Pediatric Sedation Clinic to serve the needs of children who required MRIs but were unable to hold still for scans; his practice now focuses solely on serving patients in that clinic.

“Patients and families know him better as ‘Dr. Greg,’ and he treats each patient and family member as if they were his own. He is able to gain their trust even in the most difficult situations,” said UW Health Chief Academic Integration Officer Nizar Jarjour, MD, when presenting him with the award.

Dr. Ralphe, an associate professor and chief of the Division of Pediatric Cardiology, received a Regional Services Physician Excellence Award for providing extraordinary outreach care to patients at neighboring health care facilities in Wisconsin and beyond. He has established the greatest number of outreach sites of any pediatric subspecialty throughout Wisconsin and Illinois and has grown the division from 6 to 12 faculty.

“Dr. Ralphe has set the standard for customer service and patient- and family-centered care for all as the division that he leads provides 24-7, 365-day access and consultation services with the highest level of service and professionalism,” said UW Health Chief Executive Office Alan Kaplan, MD, when presenting him with the award.

Drs. Hollman and Ralphe were two of nine physicians overall receiving awards at the ceremony.

In addition, Pediatrics faculty members Paula Cody, MD, David McCulley, MD, and Jeff Sleeth, MD, were also nominated for Physician Excellence awards.

Congratulations to all the winners!

Read more on u-Connect (UW Health employees only).