‘Dream Team’ recognized with AACR Team Science Award

Left to right, Pediatric ‘Dream Team’ members Drs. Ken DeSantes, Christian Capitini, Paul Sondel, and Mario Otto.

The St. Baldrick’s Foundation-Stand Up 2 Cancer Pediatric Cancer Dream Team, which includes pediatric faculty members Christian Capitini, MD, associate professor, Ken DeSantes, MD, professor, Mario Otto, MD, PhD, associate professor, and Paul Sondel, MD, PhD, professor, was selected for the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR)’s Team Science Award. This prestigious award was established by the AACR and Eli Lilly and Company to acknowledge and catalyze the growing importance of interdisciplinary teams to the understanding of cancer. The award serves to recognize an outstanding interdisciplinary research team for their innovative and meritorious science that has advanced our fundamental knowledge of cancer. The Dream Team was chosen in recognition of its collective and significant contributions to the pediatric cancer research community, including the genesis of 183 published manuscripts, submission of 21 patent applications, creation of a new clinical trials network, generation of over $90 million to support innovative research, and for contributing to the treatment of over 950 children on early phase clinical trials.