Division Highlights - Hospital Medicine

The Division of Pediatric Hospital Medicine provides outstanding family-centered, culturally competent and coordinated inpatient general pediatric care.

Our scholarly work focuses on system improvements, safety and quality of inpatient care, education in inpatient pediatric medicine, patient/family-centered care, care of children with medical complexity and global health.

2014 Highlights

  • The UW Health Pediatric Complex Care Program, in conjunction with the State of Wisconsin Department of Health Services and Children's Hospital of Wisconsin Special Needs Program, received a $9.45 million Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Innovation Award to further develop the program's mission of care coordination for children with medical complexity. Mary Ehlenbach, MD, is the program’s medical director and Ryan Coller, MD, MPH, is its research director.
  • Ryan Coller, MD, received a grant from the Wisconsin Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (funded by the Maternal Child Health Title V Block Grant and sponsored by the Waisman Center) for a project to improve the inpatient transition process for young adults with chronic medical conditions.
  • Shannon Dean, MD, was named chief medical information officer for UW Health.
  • Michelle Kelly, MD, was selected as incoming co-chair of the American Pediatric Association’s Patient and Family-Centered Care Special Interest Group.
  • Michelle Kelly, MD and Shannon Dean, MD, helped lead the implementation of MyChart Bedside at American Family Children’s Hospital. MyChart Bedside is a new application from Epic designed to improve patient engagement and family centeredness by providing up-to-the-minute medical information to patients and families.
  • Kirstin Nackers, MD, spoke about early brain and child development at the 7th Annual Healthy Classrooms Foundation Symposium, held in May 2014 at the Wisconsin Institute for Discovery. She also gave a workshop on treatment of acute otorrhea in children with tympanostomy tubes at the Wisconsin Infant and Early Childhood Mental Health annual conference with her colleague from the Wisconsin Early Childhood Association.
  • Kristin Shadman, MD, Dan Sklansky, MD, and Shannon Dean, MD, led the implementation of the IIPE-PRIS Accelerating Safe Sign-outs (I-PASS) handoff bundle, an evidenced-based approach to improving patient safety through a standardized handoff process.




Ellen R. Wald, MD

Professor and
Interim Division Chief

Sabrina M. Butteris, MD

Assistant Professor (CHS)

Ryan J. Coller, MD, MPH

Assistant Professor (CHS)

Shannon M. Dean, MD

Assistant Professor (CHS)

Mary L. Ehlenbach, MD

Assistant Professor (CHS)

Jonathan E. Fliegel, MD

Associate Professor (CHS)

Michelle M. Kelly, MD

Assistant Professor (CHS)

Kirstin A. M. Nackers, MD

Assistant Professor (CHS)

Heather M. Peto, MD, MPH

Clinical Assistant Professor

Kristin A. Shadman, MD

Assistant Professor (CHS)

Daniel J. Sklansky, MD

Assistant Professor (CHS)

Angela F. Veesenmeyer, MD, MPH

Assistant Professor (CHS)


Recent Publications

Grant Support

View Other Divisions' Highlights