Research & Development Committee Awards Announced

The Department of Pediatrics Research and Development Committee recently awarded grants to thirteen faculty members for the following projects:

  • Awni Al-Subu, MD - Pediatric Acute Respiratory Distress Incidence and Epidemiology (PARDIE) Study
  • Pelin Cengiz, MD - Pharmacokinetic Profile of a TrkB Agonist in Neonatal Mice
  • Elizabeth Cox, MD, PhD - Assessing Barriers to Type 1 Diabetes Self-Management in Young Adults
  • Istvan Danko, MD, PhD - Intravenous Iron Sucrose Treatment of Iron Deficiency Anemia in IBD
  • Marlowe Eldridge, MD - PET/MR Image Glucose Utilization and Contractile Function in the Myocardium
  • Peter Ferrazzano, MD - Understanding Neurodevelopmental Outcomes after Critical Illness
  • Scott Hagen, MD - Development of a Temporary Pacemaker Simulator and Curriculum
  • John Hokanson, MD - Adolescent Heart Rate Response in PACER Exercise and Water Slide Participation
  • Pamela Kling, MD - Population-Based Screening for Iron Status at Birth
  • Amy Peterson, MD - Case Review Series of Sitosterolemia with Longitudinal Study of CIMT
  • Luther Sigurdsson, MD - Uroflowmetry & Electromyography to Identify Pelvic Floor Dysfunction in Refractory Constipation
  • Judy Smith, MD, PhD - The Role of the Unfolded Protein Response in Brucella Melitensis Replication
  • Michael Wilhelm, MD - Cardiac Critical Care Consortium

Additionally, nine laboratories/investigators were awarded Capital Equipment Funding:

  • Elizabeth Cox, MD, PhD
  • Peter Ferrazzano, MD
  • James Gern, MD, and Robert Lemanske, MD
  • Bruce Klein, MD and Marcel Wüethrich, PhD
  • Michael MacDonald, MD
  • De-Ann Pillers, MD, PhD, and Bikash Pattnaik, PhD
  • Christine Seroogy, MD
  • Paul Sondel, MD, PhD
  • Christine Sorenson, PhD