• The department was ranked #6 of 88 medical school pediatric departments nationwide for National Institutes of Health (NIH) awards, according to data compiled and released by the Blue Ridge Institute for Medical Research (BRIMR).

  • The department had $24.1 million in extramural grant funding in FY17, a 3% decrease from FY16.

  • In FY17, 58 faculty (36%) in 13 divisions had extramural funding supporting their salary.

  • Faculty submitted 122 grant proposals in FY17, with 43 (35%) funded.

  • Throughout 2017, our faculty were PIs or co-Is on 286 grants. Our department's centralized clinical research coordinators managed 55 studies, a 25% decrease from 2016.

  • Faculty, residents and fellows presented 71 abstracts at the department’s 2017 Spring Research Day. Of these, 25 (35%) were accepted at the Pediatric Academic Society (PAS) meeting: 13 as poster presentations, 10 as platform presentations and two as workshops.


Extramural Research Funding by Source

Extramural Research Funding by Division


SPR/APS Members

The following faculty are active members of the Society for Pediatric Research:

  • David Allen, MD
  • Mei Baker, MD
  • Sabrina Butteris, MD
  • Aaron Carrel, MD
  • Pelin Cengiz, MD
  • Elizabeth Cox, MD, PhD
  • Philip Farrell, MD, PhD (emeritus)
  • Peter Ferrazzano, MD
  • John Hokanson, MD
  • Daniel Jackson, MD
  • Michelle Kelly, MD
  • Julie Kessel, MD
  • Pamela Kling, MD
  • Patricia Kokotailo, MD
  • Robert Lemanske, MD
  • Ryan McAdams, MD
  • Eneida Mendonça, MD, PhD
  • Olachi Mezu-Ndubuisi, MD, OD*
  • Caroline Paul, MD
  • De-Ann Pillers, MD, PhD
  • J. Carter Ralphe, MD
  • Michael Rock, MD
  • Christine Seroogy, MD
  • Kristin Shadman, MD*
  • Judith Smith, MD, PhD
  • Nick Von Bergen, MD
  • Ellen Wald, MD (emeritus)
  • Michael Wilhelm, MD, MS
  • Jon Wolff, MD

*Became a member in 2017

The following faculty are active members of the American Pediatric Society:

  • David Allen, MD
  • Sharon Bartosh, MD
  • James Conway, MD
  • Kenneth DeSantes, MD
  • Bruce Edmonson, MD
  • Marlowe Eldridge, MD
  • Philip Farrell, MD, PhD (emeritus)
  • James Gern, MD
  • Frank Greer, MD
  • Anna Huttenlocher, MD
  • Bruce Klein, MD
  • Robert Lemanske, MD
  • Michael MacDonald, MD
  • Ryan McAdams, MD
  • De-Ann Pillers, MD, PhD
  • Paul Sondel, MD, PhD
  • Ellen Wald, MD