Diverse Scholarly Research Seeks New Knowledge

Our scholarly research efforts lead to better understanding, prevention, and treatment of pediatric disease. In FY12, department faculty received $15.2 in extramural grant funding, including several key laboratory research awards.

Support from the Legacy of Angels Foundation is enabling Mei Baker, MD, and Phillip Farrell, MD, PhD, to develop a new screening protocol for cystic fibrosis (CF) that will significantly reduce false positive results. In a related grant, Michael Rock, MD, and Dr. Farrell are evaluating a new type of sweat test for infants at risk for CF—one that may reduce the likelihood of screening failures.

Marlowe Eldridge, MD, received a grant from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) to investigate how bronchopulmonary dysplasia, a chronic lung disease that affects very low birth weight infants who need long-term mechanical ventilation and oxygen therapy, affects pulmonary vasculature and right heart function.

Christine Sorenson, PhD, also received an NIH grant to investigate whether inhibiting the expression of the apoptosis regulator protein bcl-2 prevents choroidal and retinal neovascularization, a phenomenon that occurs in retinopathy of prematurity and age-related macular degeneration, two major causes of blindness.

Research associates Travis Schmit, PhD, and Adrian Grimes, along with endocrinology fellow Jennifer Rehm, MD, each received postdoctoral fellowship funding to support their research activities.

Christian Capitini, MD, was named a UW SMPH Centennial Scholar in 2012, receiving $70,000 for three years and 50 percent protected time for scholarly activities. The Centennial Scholars Program supports junior faculty whose diversity enhances education and research at the SMPH, and who may serve as role models for trainees from underrepresented minority backgrounds.

Finally, in 2012, four faculty have research support through the UW Institute for Clinical and Translational Research KL2 Scholars Program. The program provides Peter Ferrazzano, MD; Daniel Jackson, MD; Michael Wilhelm, MD; Pelin Cengiz, MD with training, mentoring, and protected time to develop an independent research program.

View All Year in Review Stories