Our People

In 2012, the Department of Pediatrics had 341 employees: 147 faculty (all tracks) and 194 staff.

Department of Pediatrics Staff

Faculty Transitions

In 2012, the department recruited 11 new faculty:

Name Division Recruited From
Debra Burbach, MD Neonatology & Newborn Nursery Fort HealthCare; Fort Atkinson, WI
Luke Lamers, MD Cardiology Arizona Pediatric Cardiology Consultants; Tucson, AZ
David McCulley, MD Neonatology & Newborn Nursery Fellowship, University of California, San Francisco
Kirstin Nackers, MD General Pediatrics & Adolescent Medicine Pediatric residency, University of Wisconsin–Madison
Paul Neary, MD Neonatology & Newborn Nursery/Child Abuse & Bioethics Internal Medicine & Pediatrics, S.C.; Fort Atkinson, WI
Michael Porte, MD Neonatology & Newborn Nursery Kettering Health Network; Dayton, OH
Chu Ri Shin, MD Hematology, Oncology & Bone Marrow Transplant Stanford University; Palo Alto, CA
Daniel Sklansky, MD Hospital Medicine Rockford Memorial Hospital; Rockford, IL
Alex Thomas, MD Allergy, Immunology & Rheumatology Fellowship, University of Wisconsin–Madison
Marcia Wirt, MD Neurodevelopmental-Behavioral Pediatrics Marshfield Clinic; Marshfield, WI
Christine Zimmerman, MD General Pediatrics & Adolescent Medicine Rockford Health System; Rockford, IL

The following faculty left the department in 2012:

  • Kris Catrine, MD (Hospital Medicine)
  • Margaret Bartholomew, MD (Hospital Medicine)
  • Lydia Mawad, MD (General Pediatrics & Adolescent Medicine)

In addition, Marcus Cohen, MD, a professor in the division of Allergy, Immunology & Rheumatology, retired on June 30, 2012, after 46 years of service.

Faculty Promotions

Name Track Promotion to Rank
Pamela Kling, MD Tenure Professor
Theresa Guilbert, MD, MS Tenure Associate Professor
Scott Hagen, MD CHS Associate Professor
Barbara Knox, MD CHS Associate Professor
Jeffrey Sleeth, MD Clinician-Teacher Professor
David Wargowski, MD CHS Professor

In Memoriam

Anna Dusick, MD

Anna Dusick, MD

Anna Dusick, MD, chief of the Division of Neurodevelopmental-Behavioral Pediatrics, and medical director of the clinical services program at the Waisman Center, died July 9, 2012, after a battle with leukemia.

Dr. Dusick joined the department in 2010. During her time here, she actively grew the division and the clinical services program at the Waisman Center. She established the Down Syndrome and Newborn Follow-up clinics, and continued her work with the National Institute of Child and Human Development (NICHD) Neonatal Research Network.

Dr. Dusick dedicated her professional life to reducing infant morbidity and mortality, and promoting healthy outcomes. She worked passionately to meet the needs of the children and families she served, and throughout her career, received numerous awards recognizing her work and its impact on infant and children’s health.

Sharon Foster, PhD

Sharon Foster, PhD

Sharon Foster, PhD, a psychologist and former associate professor in the Division of General Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine, died November 19, 2012, after several years of struggle with early-onset Alzheimer’s Disease.

Dr. Foster had a special clinical interest in adolescents and counseled many throughout her career. She was a wonderful clinician and teacher who cared deeply about her work, and was unusually sensitive to the ethical dimensions of her patients.

Charles Lobeck, MD

Charles Lobeck, MD

Former Department of Pediatrics Chair Charles Lobeck, MD, who went on to hold leadership positions at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health (SMPH) across three decades, died July 20, 2012.

Dr. Lobeck was chair of the department from 1964 to 1974, associate dean for clinical affairs from 1974 to 1975, and vice dean and associate dean of academic affairs from 1984 to 1991.

In addition to his administrative work and clinical duties, Dr. Lobeck conducted basic and clinical research on cystic fibrosis (CF). He was instrumental in creating and leading the U.S. Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, today one of the premier organizations of its kind.