Division Highlights - Child Abuse & Bioethics

2007 - 2008 Highlights

Barbara Knox, MD, launches post-abusive head injury clinic at UW

Wisconsin Department of Justice funds the Wisconsin Child Maltreatment Prevention Network Project

Barbara Knox, MD, awarded Wisconsin Children’s Justice Act program development grant


The Division of Child Abuse Pediatrics and Bioethics maintains excellence in clinical care, education, and research for suspected child maltreatment and ethics.

Through the University of Wisconsin Child Protection Program, we are a referral center for infants, children, and adolescents for whom physical abuse, sexual abuse, neglect, or medical child abuse have been suspected, disclosed, or diagnosed.

Services include diagnosis, reporting, treatment, and intervention. We make appropriate mental health referrals, provide case medical review for law enforcement and prosecutors, and provide consultation to other hospitals. We also provide local and regional medical education on recognition, diagnosis, and appropriate intervention of child abuse.

Our clinical research efforts aim to improve the recognition, diagnosis, and treatment of children who have been the victims of abuse.

Through appointments in the UW School of Medicine and Public Health’s interdisciplinary bioethics program, our faculty also help frame national and international debates on ethical issues in research, genetic screening, performance-enhancing drugs, and access to growth hormone.


Norman C. Fost, MD, MPH, Professor, Bioethics Barbara L. Knox, MD, Assistant Professor, Child Abuse

Norman C. Fost, MD, MPH

Residency: Johns Hopkins Hospital

Fellowships: Harvard University

Board certification: Pediatrics

View UW Health Profile

Barbara Knox, MD

Residency: Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN

Fellowships: Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, OH

Board certification: Pediatrics

View UW Health Profile

Grant Support

Barbara Knox, MD

  • Wisconsin Department of Justice
    Wisconsin Children’s Justice Act Program Development Grant (2006-2007)