Skip to Content

Division Highlights - Allergy, Immunology & Rheumatology

The Division of Allergy, Immunology, and Rheumatology provides state-of-the-art, evidence-based care for children with asthma, allergies, immunologic disorders, and rheumatologic diseases.

Our basic and clinical research projects are designed to better understand and find more effective treatments for these diseases.

2012 Highlights

  • James Gern, MD, and Anna Huttenlocher, MD, were elected to the Association of American Physicians.
  • James Gern, MD, and Robert Lemanske, MD, were named “Top Doctors” by Madison Magazine.
  • Robert Lemanske, MD, was elected president-elect of the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology.
  • Christine Seroogy, MD, received a $20,000 award from the Upper Midwest Agricultural Safety and Health Center for her project, “Exploratory Immunologic Differences in Cord Blood from Infants Born into Farming Environments Compared to Nonfarming Environments in MESA.” She was also one of the first recipients of the UW Health Patient Experience Physician Champion Award, which recognizes physicians who have achieved exemplary communication skills in the 2011 Avatar patient satisfaction survey.
  • Christine Seroogy, MD, and department chair Ellen Wald, MD, received a CATCH visiting professorship grant from the American Academy of Pediatrics, which was used to bring Dr. Holmes Morton to the department.
  • Judith Smith, MD, PhD, received a one-year, $75,000 award from the American College of Rheumatology for project, “Excess IL-23 production in ankylosing spondylitis and related arthritides.”
  • Daniel Jackson, MD, was selected to present his research at the Presidential Plenary Session at the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology 2012 annual meeting.


Robert F. Lemanske, Jr., MD

Professor and Division Chief

Marcus Cohen, MD

Clinical Professor

James E. Gern, MD


Christopher T. Healy, MD

Clinical Associate Professor

Anna Huttenlocher, MD


Daniel J. Jackson, MD

Assistant Professor

Mark H. Moss, MD

Associate Professor

Michael W. Ritter, MD

Associate Professor

Christine M. Seroogy, MD

Associate Professor

Judith A. Smith, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor

Grant D. Syverson, MD

Assistant Professor (CHS)

Alex Thomas, MD


Recent Publications

Grant Support

View Other Divisions' Highlights

Last updated: 01/04/2016
webmaster [at] pediatrics [dot] wisc [dot] edu
Copyright © 2016 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System