Skip to Content

Division Highlights - Nephrology

2007 - 2008 Highlights

Sharon Bartosh, MD. participates in 10 active clinical trials


The Division of Nephrology provides comprehensive outpatient care for children with a variety of kidney-related concerns. We also provide the full range of acute inpatient services for children experiencing hypertensive urgency/emergency, acute nephritis, or acute renal failure, including diagnostic percutaneous renal biopsy.

Renal replacement therapies include peritoneal dialysis, hemodialysis, CVVH, and CVVHD. We offer home peritoneal dialysis or outpatient hemodialysis at the state-of-the-art American Family Children’s Hospital.

Successful renal transplantation is the goal for children with renal failure. Our nationally and internationally recognized expertise in pediatric renal transplantation includes novel “prednisone-free” immunosuppression options.

Our clinical, laboratory, and translational research aims to advance scientific knowledge in pediatric renal transplantation, pediatric kidney stones, and bone disorders and impaired growth associated with kidney failure.


Division Chief: Sharon M. Bartosh, MD, Professor Cheryl P. Sanchez, MD, Associate Professor

Sharon M. Bartosh, MD

Residency: St. Christopher’s Hospital for Children, Philadelphia, PA

Fellowships: St. Christopher’s Hospital for Children, Philadelphia, PA

Board certification: Pediatrics, Pediatric Nephrology

Clinical interests: Pediatric renal failure, dialysis and transplantation, kidney stones in childhood, and cardiac involvement and growth in children with renal disease

View UW Health Profile

Cheryl P. Sanchez, MD

Residency: Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke’s Medical Center, Chicago, IL

Fellowships: UCLA Children’s Hospital, Los Angeles, CA

Board certification: Pediatrics, Pediatric Nephrology

Clinical interests: Bone disorders in kidney disease including osteoporosis

View UW Health Profile

Recent Publications

Grant Support

Last updated: 01/04/2016
webmaster [at] pediatrics [dot] wisc [dot] edu
Copyright © 2016 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System